Chakras form a world in themselves. But what are the links between sounds and chakras? Here are a few correlations which could enrich your practice of the crystal singing bowl!

What is a chakra?

Chakra means ‘wheel’ in Sanskrit. These wheels, or energy vortices, receive, transform and distribute the subtle energy known as prâna, ki or chi, depending on traditions. These strength-energy currents drive human beings on different levels of body awareness, psyche and consciousness.

Thus, each plane communicates and interacts with the others, everything is linked. This is why ‘each chakra plays a fundamental role in our nervous system and our physiology, as well as in our behaviour. In order to live in harmony, all our chakras must be open and in synergy.’

The links between sounds and chakras

i.e. the corresponding light and sound frequencies:

  • 1st chakra MULHADHARA root chakra: Red and C
  • 2nd chakra SVADHISTANA sacral chakra/ Yin: Orange and D
  • 3rd chakra MANIPURA solar plexus chakra/Yang: Yellow and E
  • 4th chakra ANAHATA heart chakra: Green/Pink and F
  • 5th chakra VISHUDDHA throat chakra: Light blue and G
  • 6th chakra AJNA 3rd eye chakra: Indigo and A
  • 7th chakra SAVADHISTANA crown chakra: Purple and B
  • 8th chakra DHARMA CHAKRA soul chakra: White/Gold and C#

What do the 8 basic chakras correspond to?

The 3 lower chakras:

1st chakra: Muladhara or the root chakra is located at the perineum and the base of the spine, and is related to the element Earth and to matter. It is linked to the feet, legs, genital organs and vital strength of the body. It is stimulated by the colour red and the note C.

2nd chakra: Svadhistana or the sacral chakra is located between the navel and the pubis and is related to the element water and the colour orange. This chakra deals with sexuality and the creative being. It is, in fact, linked to the Feminine, intuition and the matrix. It is the seat of our core identity. It is stimulated by the colour orange and the note D.

3rd chakra: Manipura or the solar chakra is located at the solar plexus and is related to the element fire and the digestive organs. This energy vortex participates in the management of emotions, self-confidence, the ability to find one's place and to shine. When in excess, it ‘energises’ the ego and the quest for power. It is linked to the Masculine. To stimulate it, use the colour yellow and the note E.

The heart chakra:

4th chakra: Anahata is located in the centre of the chest (thymus area) and is related to the element air. The heart chakra controls the energy of the heart, blood flow, lungs and upper limbs. As you might guess, it opens and closes to love. It is also stimulated by the colour green and the note F.

The 3 higher chakras:

5th chakra: Vishuddha or the throat chakra is located at the throat and is the chakra of communication. This is the chakra which is related to the thyroid, throat, nose, ears, mouth and neck. It enables expression through words, the relationship with the outside world (communication of our inner being), creativity through sound and imagination. It is also related to hearing and allows us to listen to our inner guide. This vortex is also linked to the question of CHOICE. It is stimulated by the colour blue and the note G.

6th chakra: Ajna or the third eye chakra is located between the eyebrows. Ajna is therefore linked to the eyes and the nervous system. This vortex is the seat of consciousness and divine intuition. Consequently, Ajna puts us in touch with the non-manifest form of creation, with pure essence. It can thus bring the wisdom which enables us to control our ideas and actions based on the connection to the plane. The proper working of this chakra results in a Higher Mind, Intuition, Lucidity and Fair Actions. It is stimulated by the colour indigo and the note A.

7th chakra: Sahasrara or the crown chakra is located at the top of the head (formerly known as the anterior fontanelle). In fact, it is the seat of man’s accomplishment, it is the connection to the divine essence, the origin of all things that we are a part of. In conclusion, the opening of this crown chakra gradually leads us to this connection and identification of the divine essence, dispelling fear and bringing plenitude to the point of realisation and illumination. It is stimulated by the colour purple and the note B.

The soul chakra:

8th chakra: Dharma chakra or the soul chakra is located approximately 1 metre above the head and 1 metre below the feet. It forms an aural shell which envelops us and beyond which we merge with the ‘great all’. In short, the 8th chakra is the seat of our mission in life, the matrix where the information of our soul is woven. It is stimulated by the colour white/gold and the note C#.

Why are sounds essential?

Thus, sounds and chakras are inter-related frequencies. Let us rejoice in the words of a sound genius: ‘He who sings well turns his body into a sort of extraordinary instrument, which vibrates by a total pressure of the larynx on the spine. Hence, it is the spine which sings, and while singing, it makes the whole body vibrate, in particular the bones and the skull. The true sound emanates from everywhere, not just the mouth.’ Alfred Tomatis.

For the whole cosmic manifestation begins with the primordial uncreated Sound. All the other elements which make up the structure of the universe are a vibratory derivative of sound, until we arrive at the densest vibratory frequency, the element earth. In this way ‘the entire universe moves around a great cosmic symphony of unending vibratory pulsation which emanates from the divine guiding Octave, from which everything is recreated, spreads and is transformed ad infinitum. [...] Illness is but a loss of frequency (of your body systems) and restoring the tonality means recovering well-being and harmony.’ (Ramathis-Mam, Révélations d’Arcturus, 2004)